Suffolk Construction Ltd are pleased to announce the company has been appointed as principle contractor by Black Art Investments Ltd to undertake the conversion of a collection of Grade 2 Listed Barns at Benhall Low Street, Suffolk.
The contract was awarded following the success of Suffolk Construction’s in house Design & Planning team in delivering planning consent for the client. The award of the £1m construction contract to Suffolk Construction represents a further platform for the companies continued growth and success.
Simon Pask, Managing Director of Suffolk Construction said: “We are delighted to start this exciting project. We are particularly excited by this development as it sits in a truly unique space and offers spectacular and expansive views of the Suffolk Countryside”.
Simon Added: “It is testament to our in house design & planning team’s skill and determination to deliver sensitive development within the heritage build environment”
The Stables is a red brick, two Storey building which from the literature on historic Stable buildings is considered to date from the late 18th Century or early 19th Century. It is considered that it would have had a pan tile roof to match the roof covering on all the other buildings in the locality, however this has been replaced with a modern metal sheet covering. The images of England photo taken in 2005 and photos of the site in the 1980’s show the front elevation used to be extensively covered in Ivy, which has now been removed so that the arched windows and decorative details are once again visible. The plan form of the building suggests it was built as a one storey & a half storey structure with the attic space used for storage and was flanked on the eastern side by a single storey structure which screens the yard from the road and main access to Benhall Place.
The Threshing Barn:
The Threshing barn to the south of the stables is dated to the 17th Century and is a timber framed structure which retains some of its weather boarding but has been extended and brick faced to the western elevation.
History of the site:
The Manor of Benhall was granted in 1086 to Robert De Malet. It has subsequently been held by a number of powerful owners including the De La Pole Family and Henry V111. Since the 13th Century the main house in the parish has been Benhall Lodge which has been rebuilt on a number of occasions and remains a private house within a historic park and garden to the south of the property. In the 19th Century Rev Hollond resided in Benhall Lodge and he founded a national and infant school in Benhall Green. In the 1865 Post office directory, Benhall place is not specifically identified. George Seaman is listed as being a farmer in the district at the time and he is also identified as operating a brick Kiln at Benhall place 1853-1885 and thus appears to have been the occupier of Benhall Place in the mid-19th Century. Prior to this is a Henry Adam Cupper is listed as operating the Kiln. Daniel Fayers is listed from 1185-1916 when it appears to have ceased operation. In correspondence of the Asslett Family, reference is made to Place Farm ‘where Dan Fayers used to live’